Tuesday, December 29, 2009

Just Cause...

Hands Down one of my Fav Def Poetry Performances...

Distant Relatives

“Africa is the backbone of the world and the foundation of everything and Africans are in a situation where they need help more than anywhere else"
_ Damien Marley

Damien Marley and Nas are currently working on a album. I must say I'm pretty excited. the whole feel and theme of the album is solely based on educating today's people about Africa. With knowledge comes unity. With unity comes strength. The time is now.

The LP will be in stores March 16th, 2010.

Distant Relatives Track List.
1. Intro (Something New) (prod. Damian Marley)
2. As We Enter (prod. Damian Marley)
3. Revolutionary (prod. Damian Marley)
4. Count Your Blessings (prod. Damian & Stephen Marley)
5. Belief is Key (prod. Damian Marley)
6. Africa Must Wake Up f. K’naan (prod. Nas, Damian & Stephen Marley)
7. Black Horizon f. K’naan (prod. Damian Marley)
8. Only the Strong (prod. Damian & Stephen Marley)
9. Our Generation f. Joss Stone & Stevie Wonder (prod. Damian Marley)
10. Empowerment (prod. Stephen Marley)
11. AID (prod. K’naan & Nas)
12. Let’s End It (Poverty) f. K’naan (prod. 9th Wonder & Damian Marley)
13. The Earth f. Bob Marley (prod. Salaam Remix, Damian & Stephen Marley)
14. Black Man’s Paper f. Erykah Badu (prod. Afry) [UK Bonus]
15. Weed On f. Snoop Dogg (prod. Damian Marley) [iTunes Bonus]

This Is It

Directed by Spike Lee.

Michael Jackson was such a great artist. He played a major role in the lives of so many people. We let the media erase his greatness from our memory. Now that he has passed we can focus on the many years of great work he has done. And not his last few on earth.

I Love You Michael.

Sunday, December 27, 2009

This Weeks Secret


Friday, December 25, 2009

Truth in Tha Rap

Even though this is something I've always believed, its kind of shocking when finally confirmed. Even though some may argue that it was just a freestyle; I believe that freestyles relieve the most about said person for they can only speak what they know.

Heres Kanye at a show in LA where in a freestyle he admits to selling his soul to the devil.

Sunday, December 20, 2009

Behind the Scences: Rihanna "So Hard"

On the set of Rihanna's new video " So Hard ".

The Return of The Unk

“Wherever I am in life, is where I am in my music. It’s the emotional and right brain counterpart to New Amerykah pt. 1. It’s what I say in Amerykah like I was standing on an Apex, watching everything around me, like a commentary. Part 2 is emotionally where I am and spiritually and creatively. This one tells a biography of what I’m going through, what I see and what I’ve learned. When I listen to the albums, I can see how far I’ve come spiritually and mentally.”

_Erykah Badu speaking on her new album "New Amerykah Pt. 2- Return of the Unk".

With Ms. Badu being hands down one of my Top 5 Favorite Artist, you could imagine how excited i am about the release of her new album. Shes one of the original soul artist who has a feel to her songs like no other.

As stated in the video below, Ms. Badu simply made an album based on pure feelings and emotion. Working not keeping in mind what people would expect from her or even the expectations she herself. The sound and feel of the album also incorporates artwork. I cant wait to see which artistsshe decides to work with. I'm highly anticipation this album. The album drops on her birthday February 26, 2010.